Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

James Alan Shelton Re-releasing Two Early Albums as One 26-Song CD

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

James Alan SheltonNashville, TN -- Bluegrass music artist James Alan Shelton, Ralph Stanley's lead guitarist for the past 18 years, has responded to fan requests by compiling two of his early and nearing out-of-print albums into a single CD of 26 songs. Titled James Alan Shelton: The Copper Creek Sessions, the package contains the complete original contents of Road To Coeburn (1997) and Guitar Tracks (1999), both of which debuted on the Copper Creek label.

A native of Church Hill, Tenn., Shelton has long been the unifying figure in Stanley's fabled Clinch Mountain Boys band. But his significance to Stanley's emergence as the world's pre-eminent traditional mountain music singer goes beyond that. Shelton has also accompanied Stanley on a variety of solo appearances and recordings, the most recent of which was the theatrically released electronic dance music documentary, Re: Generation.

Shelton shares a Grammy with the Clinch Mountain Boys for their work on the 2002 Jim Lauderdale/Ralph Stanley album, Lost In The Lonesome Pines. Last year, Shelton inducted George Shuffler, guitarist and bassist for The Stanley Brothers during the 1950s and ‘60s, into the International Bluegrass Hall of Fame. Shuffler, who developed the intricate "cross picking" guitar style, is one of Shelton's major musical influences.

The songs included on James Alan Shelton: The Copper Creek Sessions are "Tom's Creek," "Sunny Side Of The Mountain," "Five String Drag," "Beautiful Star Of Bethlehem," "Angeline The Baker," "My Dixie Darling," "Goin' Up Caney," "Road To Coeburn," "Ashland Breakdown," "Lonesome Reuben," "East Virginia Blues," "I Saw The Light," "Highway's End."

Also, "Sugarfoot Rag," "Old Spinning Wheel," "Barbara Allen," "Cannonball Blues," "The Ghost Train," "I'll Fly Away," "Road Weary Blues," "Tragic Romance," "Snow Deer," "Lost Indian," "Rosewood Casket," "Sweet Bye And By" and "Shenandoah."

Shelton has released 10 solo albums. The others are Blue In The Blue Ridge (1996), Clinch Mountain Guitar (1998), Standing Room Only (1999), Songs For Greta (2002), Half Moon Bay (2004), Walking Down The Line (2007), Gospel Guitar (2008) and Where I'm Bound (2009).

Half Moon Bay was a nominee for Best Instrumental Album of the Year by the International Bluegrass Music Association.

James Alan Shelton: The Copper Creek Sessions will be available March 27, 2012 on Amazon, iTunes, CD Baby and through Shelton's website

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer