Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Woody Guthrie's Children's Songs Re-Imagined By Elizabeth Mitchell On 'Little Seed'

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Little SeedOn July 10, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings will release Elizabeth Mitchell's 'Little Seed: Songs for Children by Woody Guthrie,' featuring re-imagined renditions of 13 kid-friendly Guthrie classics. The only album of Guthrie's children's songs coinciding with the Woody Guthrie Centennial (, 'Little Seed' pays tribute to the legendary songwriter's uncanny ability to inhabit both the perspective of a loving, protective parent and the voice of a freewheeling child. The album includes thoughtful versions of children's songs "Riding in My Car," "Grassy Grass Grass," and "Bling Blang." Mitchell also shares her version of "This Land Is Your Land," Guthrie's signature song that many people consider a second national anthem.

Stream "This Land Is Your Land" and "Bling Blang":

As always, she is joined on the recording by family (husband Daniel Littleton and daughter Storey) and friends, including Amy Helm, daughter of the late Levon Helm, pillars of the American acoustic music scene Jay Ungar and Molly Mason, and Ruthy Ungar of Mike and Ruthy and formerly of the Mammals.

"Woody Guthrie's songs for children are a gift to all of us. They are a part of me, part of my family," says Mitchell. "Thank you, Woody, for giving us this beautiful experience and so many others like it. We can feel this profound musical joy anytime, anywhere, with you in our spirits and your songs in our hearts."

Acclaimed by Time magazine as one of the "Stars of Kindie Rock," Mitchell is also a founding member of veteran indie rock band Ida and is one of Smithsonian Folkways' best-selling artists. 'Little Seed' is her third album with the label, following 'You Are My Little Bird' (2006) and 'Sunny Day' (2010), and features eight newly recorded tracks and five previously issued favorites. This summer's tour dates include the Clearwater Festival in Croton-on-Hudson, NY, on June 17, the Wolf Trap Theatre near Washington, DC, on July 5-7, and the Newport Folk Festival in Newport, RI, on July 28-29 (hosting the kids' tent).

For complete tour dates and more information visit Elizabeth Mitchell's official website:

TRACK LIST (Album includes 13 tracks, 29 minutes, 20-page booklet with photos.):

  1. Riding in My Car
  2. Bling Blang *
  3. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 *
  4. Why, Oh Why *
  5. Sleep Eye *
  6. Who's My Pretty Baby?
  7. Rattle My Rattle *
  8. This Land Is Your Land*
  9. Merry-Go-Round *
  10. One Day Old
  11. Little Sugar
  12. Grassy Grass Grass
  13. Little Seed *

*Previously Unreleased

Smithsonian Folkways is the nonprofit record label of the national museum of the United States and is an official sponsor of the Woody Guthrie Centennial. For more information on the year-long celebration visit:

Children's music is at the core of Smithsonian Folkways' mission and catalog, which includes more than 200 children's albums. Selected artists include Ella Jenkins, Pete Seeger, Woody Guthrie, Sarah Lee Guthrie (Woody's granddaughter), Suni Paz, Elizabeth Mitchell, and Chip Taylor.

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings retail distribution is through ADA (Alternative Distribution Alliance) at 800.239.3232. Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, as well as Folkways Records, A.R.C.E., Cook, Collector, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, I.L.A.M., The Mickey Hart Collection, Monitor, M.O.R.E., and Paredon, are available via mail order at 888.FOLKWAYS or 800.410.9815 and via the Internet. Visit the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings website at

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer