Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Ryman Auditorium to Host Amaricana Honors and Awards September 12, 2012

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Gillian WelchThe Americana Music Association's marquis event, the Americana Honors and Awards show returns to the historically cool Ryman Auditorium September 12, 2012. It will once again be hosted by the iconic Jim Lauderdale, while the All Star Band will be led by the phenomenal Buddy Miller.

Each year the Americana Music Association honors distinguished members of the music community. Six member-voted awards and several Lifetime Achievement Awards are handed out while over 2000 artists, music-loving fans and entertainment industry executives look on.

The Honors & Awards have featured many amazing moments over the years. Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash’s last live performance was on the Americana stage. Artists such as The Carolina Chocolate Drops. Robert Plant & His Band of Joy, Steve Earle & Allison Moorer, Rosanne Cash and John Fogerty have brought our audience’s to their feet.

The nominees were announced just over a month ago in Los Angeles, California. Jason Isbell and Gillian Welch lead the nominations.

The celebration will feature performances by special guests Lucinda Williams, Shelby Lynne and Robert Ellis alongside the Americana All-Star band, led by Buddy Miller with Lauderdale, Greg Leisz, Don Heffington and Don Was. The finale song honored Americana icons; Levon Helm, Earl Scruggs and Doc Watson, who were the heartbeat of the genre, with a loving rendition of ”Will the Circle Be Unbroken.”

A genre that honors the roots of American music and its tapestry of influences, nominees for the 2012 ceremony reflect its brightest talents. From lyricists that articulate the human condition to unrivaled instrumentalists, Americana has been described by The New York Times as "the coolest music scene today."



  • Here We Rest - Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  • I’ll Never Get Out of This World Alive - Steve Earle
  • The Harrow & The Harvest - Gillian Welch
  • This One’s For Him: A Tribute to Guy Clark - Various Artists


  • Gillian Welch
  • Hayes Carll
  • Jason Isbell
  • Justin Townes Earle


  • Alabama Shakes
  • Dawes
  • Deep Dark Woods
  • Robert Ellis


  • “Alabama Pines” – Written by Jason Isbell and performed by Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  • "Come Around" - Written and performed by Sarah Jarosz
  • “I Love” – Written by Tom T. Hall and performed by Patty Griffin
  • “Waiting on the Sky to Fall” – Written and performed by Steve Earle


  • Buddy Miller
  • Chris Thile
  • Darrell Scott
  • Dave Rawlings


  • Carolina Chocolate Drops
  • Civil Wars
  • Gillian Welch and David Rawlings
  • Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
  • Punch Brothers

The Americana Honors & Awards, presented by Nissan, returns to the historically cool Ryman Auditorium on September 12, 2012 (as part of the Americana Music Festival to take place September 12-15, 2012 at various venues throughout Music City). The iconic Jim Lauderdale will once again host the Honros & Awards, while the phenomenal Buddy Miller will lead the All-Star Band. The Honors & Awards have featured many amazing, once-in-a-lifetime moments over the years from secret shows to legendary collaborations.

The Americana Music Association is a professional trade organization whose mission is to provide a forum for the advocacy of Americana music and to promote public awareness of the genre to support the creative and economic viability of professionals in this field. Dedicated to building and promoting the Americana genre and the individuals who participate in that industry, the Americana Music Association works closely with artists, labels, radio stations, retailers, print media, festivals, agents, publishers and more to help organize and build the infrastructure necessary for the Americana genre to achieve success both creatively and financially.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer