Click to purchase All The Way to Bethlehem

You are here

The Infamous Stringdusters Release Silver Sky and Announce Fall Tour

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Infamous StringdustersThe Infamous Stringdusters’ constant, relentless, revelatory musical evolution is on display throughout the band’s new double disc release Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition (October 16, 2012 / High Country Recordings and SCI Fidelity). Fresh off a hugely successful third installment of the band’s beloved festival - simply dubbed The Festy, an appearance at the recent International Bluegrass Awards, and a feature on CMT's "Concrete Country" series, The Infamous Stringdusters now head out for a massive fall tour in support of Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition.

The Infamous Stringdusters launched their fall tour just last night, with a buzzing CMJ Showcase / CD release celebration at Brooklyn Bowl. The tour continues on for over 20 dates, winding through parts of the east coast and Midwest, before jumping to the west coast, then wrapping up in the Rocky Mountains in mid-November. In December, the band heads to the Mayan Riviera for Cloud 9 Adventures’ inaugural Strings & Sol. The band recently announced their end-of-year plans, with shows in New York City, Philadelphia, and Falls Church, VA, and bidding 2012 farewell with a hometown New Year’s Eve show in Charlottesville, VA. The complete list of confirmed tour dates is included below.

Silver Sky Deluxe EditionWorking with an unlikely studio partner – hip-hop producer Billy Hume (Ludacris, Nas) - Silver Sky (first released in March of this year) finds The Infamous Stringdusters’ powerful rhythms and vocal melodies at the forefront of the music. Paired with We’ll Do It Live – a seamless live recording culled from four epic 2011 performances - Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition eloquently demonstrates a band whose artistic voice has fully emerged, and offers a riveting glimpse of just how, and where, The Infamous Stringdusters are leading the bluegrass revolution. Silver Sky-Deluxe Edition is available exclusively at independent retail stores throughout the country, with Silver Sky (without the bonus track) and We’ll Do It Live available separately online, and on vinyl at retail stores only.

The Infamous Stringdusters are heirs to the transgressive tradition of bluegrass. The band, who recently relocated from Nashville, TN to their new home in Charlottesville, VA, has been quietly amassing a huge and loyal following of fans for seven years. Meanwhile, their exciting impact on the changing face of bluegrass was noticed right out of the gate; the band’s debut album Fork in the Road (2007, Sugar Hill) garnered attention from The International Bluegrass Music Association, who awarded the Stringdusters three major prizes: for song, emerging artist and album of the year.

For certain, The Infamous Stringdusters have spent “a good stretch of time…learning their craft and woodshedding their musical chops” (Lexington Herald). But aside from their stunning musicianship, the musical style that has resulted is how this band is making their mark on music history. “Somehow familiar and timeless, [The Infamous Stringdusters] propel the legacy of bluegrass and string band music into the future with a stunning blend of musical virtuosity and fresh energy” (Telluride Inside). This is High Country music. This is The Infamous Stringdusters.

The Infamous Stringdusters complete list of confirmed tour dates is as follows:
Wednesday, October 17 Pearl Street Northampton MA
Thursday, October 18 Port City Music Hall Portland ME
Friday, October 19 Higher Ground South Burlington VT
Saturday, October 20 The Haunt Ithaca NY
Tuesday, October 23 Blind Pig Ann Arbor MI
Wednesday, October 24 Bell's Eccentric Cafe - Backroom Kalamazoo MI
Friday, October 26 Majestic Live Madison WI
Saturday, October 27 - Sunday, October 28 Hangtown Halloween Ball Placerville CA
Tuesday, October 30 Emerson Theater Bozeman MT
Wednesday, October 31 Top Hat Lounge Missoula MT
Thursday, November 1 OK Theater Enterprise OR
Friday, November 2 The Domino Room Bend OR
Saturday, November 3 Wonder Ballroom Portland OR
Sunday, November 4 Humboldt Brews Arcata CA
Monday, November 5 Sierra Nevada Brewing Co., Big Room Chico CA
Thursday, November 8 The State Room Salt Lake City UT
Friday, November 9 Aggie Theatre Fort Collins CO
Saturday, November 10 Cervantes' Masterpiece Ballroom Denver CO
Tuesday, November 13 The Bottleneck Lawrence KS
Wednesday, November 14 Old Rock House St. Louis MO
Thursday, November 15 The Basement Columbus OH
Friday, November 16 Growler's Roanoke VA
Saturday, November 17 Cat's Cradle Carrboro NC
Wednesday, December 12 - Sunday, December 16 Strings & Sol Festival - Dreams Resort Tulum Tulum, Quintana Roo Mexico
Thursday, December 27 Bowery Ballroom New York NY
Friday, December 28 Union Transfer Philadelphia PA
Saturday, December 29 State Theater Falls Church VA
Monday, December 31 Jefferson Theater Charlottesville VA

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer