Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Americana Music Association Announced New Board of Directors

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Americana Music AssociationNashville, TN -- The Americana Music Association announced six incoming directors, who will each serve two year terms, as a result of the annual elections for their Board of Directors and three appointed Directors for one year terms, all to start in January 2013. The results reflect the rising influence and characteristics of the Americana genre itself; Independent, entrepreneurial and progressive. The current composition of the Board features 21 members residing in eight different cities; Austin, Boston, Knoxville, Los Angeles, Nashville, New York City, Toronto, Canada and Washington, DC.

The Americana community has been at the forefront of the industry landscape shift by engaging artists, professionals and fans alike through grassroots marketing and development. As the Wall Street Journal recently wrote “Musicians…are looking for a community that embraces folk, blues, R&B, traditional country and certain streams of rock want to be part of the Americana tradition.”

Additionally, the emphasis of promoting the community to a broader audience beyond traditional industry methods has the Americana Music Association poised for more profound breakthroughs, as the genre segues into a new year. Described by Entertainment Weekly as "the booming genre" and "Red Hot" by the Nashville City Paper, Americana boasts some of the most groundbreaking and legendary acts in music today.

Re-elected for new terms are artist Mary Gauthier, Amanda Hale of New West Records, Al Moss from Al Moss Promotions and Jessie Scott from Music Fog/Hill Country. New board members include Shauna de Cartier of Six Shooter Records and Lynne Sheridan from the GRAMMY Museum.

In accordance with the Americana Music Association bylaws, three additional Board members have been appointed: Tim Fink from SESAC, John Ingrassia of Vector Management and Jonathan Levine from Paradigm. These individuals join re appointed voting board members Kurt Vitolo of KV Financial Group, P.C. who will continue to serve as Treasurer and Mark Moffatt, Chair of the Association's International Committee.

The incoming directors join returning board members Ashley Capps of AC Entertainment, Voice of America’s Joan Kornblith, Bug Music/BMG Chrysalis' John Allen, Austin City Limits Executive Producer Terry Lickona, former Rounder Records VP Brad Paul, Attorney Wayne Halper, Crash Avenue’s Emilee Warner, Ramseur Records’ Holly Lowman and artists Rodney Crowell and Buddy Miller.

The 2013 executive committee will be elected at the annual board retreat in January, which will take place in Nashville, TN. Earlier this year, the Association implemented an executive transition structure in which the board elects a President-elect each year. The President-elect becomes the President the following year and then serves a third term as Past-President. Effective for 2013, Holly Lowman will assume the position of President of the Americana Music Board of Directors. She will be the third woman to hold the position and the youngest President in the Association’s 13-year history. Brad Paul will serve as Past-President in 2013 in order to offer guidance and a sense of continuum in leadership.

For more information about the Americana Music Association, log on to, like the association on Facebook and follow them on Twitter.

Now in its 14th year, the Americana Music festival and Conference presented by Nissan will take place September 18 - 22, 2013. The event brings together fans and music industry executives alike offering four days of celebration through seminars, panels and networking opportunities by day and raw, battery–recharging showcases each evening. The Americana Honors and Awards Show is the featured performance of the festivities taking place at the historic Ryman Auditorium and, in 2012, was broadcast live on AXS TV and, additionally, on PBS as an edited one hour version called ACL Presents: Americana Music Festival 2012.

Registrations are NOW available for the 2013 Americana Music Festival and Conference that will take place September 18-22, 2013. Visit to take advantage of the Super Early Bird rates of $250 for members and $35 for non-members, a 50% savings of the walk up price. Details on the Americana VIP packages may also be found by clicking here. The Americana Music Association is proud to host our conference event at the Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel and are offerring a special rate of $175 per night for Americanafest attendees. Click HERE to make your reservation.

The Americana Music Association is a professional trade organization whose mission is to provide a forum for the advocacy of Americana music and to promote public awareness of the genre to support the creative and economic viability of professionals in this field. Dedicated to building and promoting the Americana genre and the individuals who participate in that industry, the Americana Music Association works closely with artists, labels, radio stations, retailers, print media, festivals, agents, publishers and more to help organize and build the infrastructure necessary for the Americana genre to achieve success both creatively and financially.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer