Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

“Simple Little Town” is Unspoken Tradition

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Simple Little Town coverUnspoken Tradition is a six piece Bluegrass group based in Central and Western North Carolina. They are currently performing in support of their first national release, Simple Little Town. The first national release from Unspoken Tradition offers a huge, energetic sound from a small town band. Straight from the heart of North Carolina’s Bluegrass country, this six-piece group does what few new groups have; they’ve released a dynamic, original, and exciting debut project.

Simple Little Town holds seven original songs from its members, includes creative out-of-the-box covers (Cake’s Stickshifts and Safetybelts) and maintains a traditional feel. Although self-produced and independently released, the performance, production and song quality of Simple Little Town is top flight. The album is already being rewarded by national airplay on XM/Sirius radio’s Bluegrass Junction.

The group hales from the small town of Cherryville, N.C. where founding members Audie McGinnis (guitar, vocals), and Zane McGinnis (banjo), along side Lee Shuford (dobro, vocals) first formed the band in 2008. Recently the band developed into its current line up which includes Asheville based musicians Tim Gardner (fiddle, vocals), Ty Gilpin (mandolin, vocals) and Lincolnton native Matt Warren (bass, vocals).

Simple Little Town’s message is congruent and the songs flow through themes from small town life like in the title track, to protest style originals like Mr. President, to heartfelt ballads including Time Marches On as well as rowdy, driving numbers like Mine Shaft Blues.

Through this release as well as their live performances, Unspoken Tradition manages to keep one foot in tradition and one foot pointed towards the future of great acoustic, heritage music.

Simple Little Town reflects the bands passion for both!

Unspoken Tradition: There are a lot of unspoken traditions that are a part of heritage music. The band makes sure that their music honors its creators. Unspoken Tradition makes sure it grows within tradition by adding their original approach. The band makes sure it maintains its role as something for everyday people who, although they may come from different backgrounds, are united through the love of great music!

Unspoken Tradition is 6 working class guys from North Carolina. Great music is their passion and Bluegrass is their love. The band started in Cherryville North Carolina, the hometown of its three founding members Lee Shuford and Audie and Zane McGinnis. The three came together at the historic picking sessions at the home of Jack Bingham. Soon they were doing what many new groups do, playing locally and building a fan following.

In 2012 the current lineup was fully formed with the additions of Matt Warren on bass and vocals, Ty Gilpin on mandolin and vocals, and Tim Gardner on fiddle and vocals. With a repertoire of new original bluegrass music, traditional bluegrass numbers and creative covers that open their band to an even wider audience, Unspoken Tradition brings a passionate energy to the stage. Their 2013 release, Simple Little Town, with its live feel and mostly original songs also showcases the band’s ability to keep one foot in the past and one pointed towards the future. The album offers something for everyone with hardcore Grass numbers, a rock ‘n roll cover, and great originals. On top of everything the band has a motto... “We play Working Class Bluegrass.” The philosophy here is that Bluegrass is folk music. It is for the people and by the people. It’s participatory music and community music. It’s real music that anyone can relate to with its themes of life, love, work, family and American culture.

Unspoken Tradition is:

  • Audie McGinnis – guitar and vocals
  • Lee Shuford – dobro and vocals
  • Zane McGinnis – banjo
  • Matt Warren – upright bass and vocals
  • Ty Gilpin – mandolin and vocals
  • Tim Gardner – fiddle and vocals

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer