Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

John Hartford Memorial Festival Announces 2014 Line-Up

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Peter RowanThe John Hartford Memorial Festival has released another line up for the 2014 festival, happening May 29-31 at Bill Monroe’s Music Park & Campground in Bean Blossom, IN. Joining the initial line up of Peter Rowan, Pokey LaFarge, and Pert Near Sandstone will be Jamie Hartford & Friends, Danny Barnes, Larry and Jenny Keel, Mike Compton, The HillBenders, Leroy Troy, Bawn in the Mash, Rumpke Mountain Boys and many more. New to the festival will be Horseshoes and Hand Grenades, Lindsay Lou & the Flatbellys, The Haunted Windchimes, Scenic Roots, Julia Belle Swain Band, Old Salt Union, The Crunchy Western Boys, Sloppy Joe, The Downtown County Band, andMaria Carrelli.

Heading into its fourth year, the John Hartford Memorial Festival is on a mission to preserve and continue the legacy, music, and ideals of John Hartford; one of America’s most beloved songwriters, performers, and musicians. “I’m thrilled to be a part of honoring John’s memory and to bring life back into the songs he crafted,” said Mike Compton.

“I think John’s passion for sound and lyrics has been felt for decades, and has altered the path of string band music,” Compton continued. “He’s sort of the granddaddy of this Jamgrass scene. There’s an awful lot of his repertoire in the bedrock of the scene, from before the Aereo-Plain album to the present. John would be thrilled to know this festival is going on. Shoot, I reckon he does,” he said.

Grammy and IBMA award-winning recording artist Mike Compton has achieved a worldwide reputation as one of the modern masters of bluegrass mandolin. He has recorded with Bill Monroe’s Bluegrass Boys, and made music with John Hartford, recording a half-dozen records and touring extensively with him until John’s death in 2001. “Working for John for a half dozen years wasn’t always easy, but it was a growing experience for me that has shaped a lot of what I do now,” Compton concluded.

The John Hartford Memorial Festival is a 3-day, family-friendly music festival that takes place in scenic southern Indiana. The park offers cabin rentals, shaded camping, electric hook ups for RVs, hot showers, a fishing pond, playground, golf cart rentals and more, and is conveniently located near Brown County State Park. Campground and campfire acoustic pickin’ is encouraged and a usual sighting around the festival.

New to next year’s festival will be John Hartford Storytelling. John’s friends will share their memories and stories with the audience. While this informally happens every year, it will be an organized event held under the Boogie Tent at specific times. There will also be a Chompdown pitch-in breakfast with live music on Friday, May 30 from 10 am – Noon for all to participate in, and a Children’s Tent with planned activities. Pickers and players are encouraged to participate in the Old-Time Fiddling Contest and the John Hartford Songwriting Contest with cash prizes and more.

Three-day tickets for the 4th Annual John Hartford Memorial Festival are on sale now at a discounted price of $75. Camping and cabin rentals are additional and paid separately. For a limited time, they are offering an exclusive, groundbreaking ticket special where you pay $25 (non-refundable down payment) upfront, and pay the remaining balance by May 1, 2014. That’s an unprecedented deal that won’t be sticking around long. Festival ticket prices go up to $100 on January 1.

Order your tickets today to get the discounted price! Visit the website for further details and tickets.

2014 John Hartford Memorial Festival Line-up:

  • Peter Rowan
  • Pokey LaFarge
  • Pert Near Sandstone
  • Jamie Hartford and Friends
  • Larry and Jenny Keel
  • Danny Barnes
  • The HillBenders
  • Rumpke Mountain Boys
  • Bawn in the Mash
  • Mike Compton
  • Leroy Troy
  • Horseshoes and Hand Grenades
  • Lindsay Lou & the Flatbellys
  • The Haunted Windchimes
  • Wil Maring and Robert Bowlin
  • Scenic Roots
  • The Henhouse Prowlers
  • The Downtown County Band
  • Eric Lambert & Friends
  • Julia Belle Swain Band
  • Ryan Spearman and Kelly Wells
  • Flatland Harmony Experiment
  • Deep Fried Pickle Project
  • Crunchy Western Boys
  • Betse Ellis
  • Colin O’Brien
  • New Old Calvary
  • The Whipstitch Sallies
  • Alex Riffle & the Stiff Riffs
  • Hickory Robot
  • Whiskey Bent Valley Boys
  • Sloppy Joe
  • Old Salt Union
  • The Worley Boys
  • Huckleberry Green
  • Ray Lawrence Jr
  • Maria Carrelli
  • White Lightning Boys
  • Cluster Pluck

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer