Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

IBMA Bluegrass Scholarship Prize - Deadline Extended

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

IBMAThe International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) is pleased to announce the first annual IBMA Bluegrass Scholarship Prize. A cash award of $100 will be announced at the IBMA Award Ceremony, and presented to the developing scholar who presents the best paper on an aspect of bluegrass music at a juried academic conference within the timeframe of January 2010 - July 2011. "Developing academic scholars" are graduate students in MA or Ph.D. programs, or individuals whose advanced degree was conferred within the last five years.

Papers to be considered should be submitted in an accepted academic style (e.g. MLA or Chicago), with complete references and other apparatus as appropriate. Submissions will be evaluated on the basis of sound scholarship, clarity of writing, and overall contribution to the understanding of bluegrass music. The 2010-2011 committee is Erika Brady Ph.D., chair (Western Kentucky University), Michelle Kisliuk Ph.D.(University of Virginia), and Kevin Kehrberg Ph.D. (Warren Wilson College).

Please submit submissions to the committee accompanied by a 2-page vita and a letter of support from an academic colleague. Materials can be sent electronically to , or by USPS to:

Erika Brady
Department of Folklore and Anthropology
Western Kentucky University
1906 College Heights Blvd. #61029
Bowling Green, KY 42101-1029

Erika informs us, "Although the IBMA Bluegrass Scholarship Prize committee received encouraging response to the award announcement, we feel that the small number of submissions in this first round does not represent the broad range of topics and approaches we know to be current among developing scholars in bluegrass at this time. We are therefore extending the deadline for submissions to July 22, 2011. We would be grateful if you would forward the revised announcement to academic advisors, mentors, and potential contributors who might have missed the first announcement."

Deadline for submissions is now July 22, 2011. The committee's decision will be communicated to submitters on or about August 19.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer