Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

NPR Presents the 2014 Americana Honors & Awards Show

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

2014 Americana Honors & Awards ShowWashington, D.C. / Nashville, Tenn. – Music fans everywhere can now watch a night of special performances by the biggest names in Americana. A set of digitally re-mastered videos from the stage of the 13th annual Americana Music Association’s Honors & Awards show is now archived and available for on-demand streaming exclusively at

Jim Lauderdale hosted the 13th annual Americana Music Association’s Honors & Awards on September 17, 2014 at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium. Jason Isbell picked up honors for Artist of the Year, Album of the Year (for Southeastern, produced by Dave Cobb) and Song of the Year (for “Cover Me Up,” which he performed with his wife Amanda Shires). The program is dedicated to the memory to Americana Music Association Founding Council member Jack Emerson, without whose passion and energy the Association would not have flourished.

The collection includes following individual performances:

  • Cassandra Wilson, “I Want To Be Loved”
  • Hurray For The Riff Raff, “The Body Electric”
  • Jackson Browne, “Fountain Of Sorrow”
  • Jackson Browne, “The Long Way Around”
  • Loretta Lynn, “Coal Miner’s Daughter”
  • Robert Ellis, “Only Lies”
  • Rosanne Cash, “A Feather’s Not A Bird”
  • Parker Millsap, “Truck Stop Gospel”
  • Rodney Crowell, “God I’m Missing You”
  • Sturgill Simpson, “Life Of Sin”

All of these videos are available now at NPR Music’s Americana Music Awards page, where fans can also find an archive of the entire evening, including performances by Loretta Lynn, Jason Isbell, Jackson Browne, JD Souther, Rosanne Cash, Patty Griffin and Robert Plant, Hurray For The Riff Raff, Sturgill Simpson, St. Paul & The Broken Bones, Parker Millsap, Robert Ellis, Valerie June, Flaco Jimenez, Taj Mahal, Rodney Crowell, Sarah Jarosz, Cassandra Wilson, The Milk Carton Kids, and The Devil Makes Three.

Americana Music Honors & Awards 2014 Winners:

  • Album of the Year: Southeastern, Jason Isbell, Producer Dave Cobb
  • Artist of the Year: Jason Isbell
  • Duo Group of the Year: The Milk Carton Kids
  • Song of the Year: “Cover Me Up,” Jason Isbell
  • Emerging Artist of the Year: Sturgill Simpson
  • Instrumentalist of the Year: Buddy Miller
  • Spirit of Americana / Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music Association and the First Amendment Center: Jackson Browne
  • Lifetime Achievement for Instrumentalist: Flaco Jimenez
  • Lifetime Achievement for Performance: Taj Mahal
  • Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriter: Loretta Lynn
  • President’s Award: Jimmie Rodgers / Award Presented to Jimmie Rodgers Museum in Meridian, MS.

The Americana Music Association is a professional not-for-profit trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American roots music around the world. The Association produces events throughout the year including the Americana Music Festival & Conference, presented by Nissan, and the critically acclaimed Americana Honors & Awards program. Registrations for the 2015 Festival & Conference, slated for September 15-20, and the September 16, 2015 Honors & Awards show, are on sale now. For more information, please visit

NPR Music collaborates with NPR's news magazines, public radio member stations and the passionate NPR community to celebrate great music in every genre. Visit and discover new music to love.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer