Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

2015 Americana Honors & Awards Nominees Announced

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Abi Tapia, Joey Ryan & Kenneth Pattengale, Nikki Lane, Jed Hilly, Abigail Washburn, Bela Fleck, and John Hiatt. Photo by Terry Wyatt, Getty ImagesNashville, TN -- The Americana Music Association announced today its nominations for the 2015 Americana Honors & Awards, presented by Nissan, during a press conference held at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum's Ford Theater and streamed live via Music City Roots. 2014 Americana Music Award for Duo/Group of the Year winners the Milk Carton Kids hosted the event and revealed the nominees of the six categories - Album, Artist, Duo/Group, Emerging Artist, Instrumentalist and Song.

The celebration also featured stripped down, acoustic performances from the Milk Carton Kids, Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn, and John Hiatt preceding the nominees reveal. Nikki Lane closed out the one-hour program with a high energy, full band performance of "Right Time."

The 16th annual Americana Music Festival & Conference will take place September 15-20, 2015. The event brings together fans and music industry professionals alike, offering six days of celebration through seminars, panels and networking opportunities by day and raw, battery recharging showcases each night. The Americana Honors & Awards Show is the featured performance of the festivities, taking place at the historic Ryman Auditorium.

2015 Americana Honors & Awards Nominees

  • Album of the Year (Award goes to Artist and Producer)
    • And The War Came - Shakey Graves; Produced by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Chris Boosahda
    • Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone - Lucinda Williams; Produced by Lucinda Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz
    • Metamodern Sounds In Country Music - Sturgill Simpson; Produced by Dave Cobb
    • The Way I'm Livin' - Lee Ann Womack; Produced by Frank Liddell
    • Tomorrow Is My Turn - Rhiannon Giddens; Produced by T-Bone Burnett
  • Artist of the Year
    • Rhiannon Giddens
    • Jason Isbell
    • Sturgill Simpson
    • Lucinda Williams
    • Lee Ann Womack
  • Duo/Group of the Year
    • Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn
    • The Lone Bellow
    • The Mavericks
    • Punch Brothers
    • Shovels & Rope
  • Emerging Artist of the Year
    • First Aid Kit
    • Houndmouth
    • Nikki Lane
    • Doug Seegers
    • Shakey Graves
  • Instrumentalist of the Year
    • Hubby Jenkins
    • Laur Joamets
    • Greg Leisz
    • John Leventhal
    • Stuart Mathis
  • Song of the Year (Award goes to Artist and Songwriter)
    • "Dearly Departed" - Shakey Graves; Written by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Esme' Patterson
    • "East Side Of Town" - Lucinda Williams; Written by Lucinda Williams
    • "Terms Of My Surrender" - John Hiatt; Written by John Hiatt
    • "Turtles All The Way Down" - Sturgill Simpson; Written by Sturgill Simpson
    • "You're The Best Lover That I Ever Had" - Steve Earle & the Dukes; Written by Steve Earle

The Americana Honors & Awards, presented by Nissan, will return to the historically cool Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN on September 16, 2015 (during AmericanaFest - September 15-20, 2015). The iconic Jim Lauderdale will once again host the Honors & Awards, while the incomparable Buddy Miller will lead the All-Star House Band. Described by Paste Magazine as "the world's best awards show," the Americana Honors & Awards have featured once-in-a-lifetime moments, unforgettable performances, and legendary collaborations. Tickets to the Honors & Awards show are only available with the purchase of an Americana Music Festival & Conference registration.

The Americana Music Association is a professional not-for-profit trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American roots music around the world. The Association produces events throughout the year including the Americana Music Festival & Conference, presented by Nissan, and the critically acclaimed Americana Honors & Awards program. Registrations for the 2015 Festival & Conference, slated for September 15-20, and the September 16, 2015 Honors & Awards show, are on sale now. For more information, please visit

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer