Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Record Store Day Vinyl with 40th Anniversary "J.D. Crowe & The New South"

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
J.D. Crowe & The New SouthRecord Store Day is April 16th and Rounder Records has a very special release planned for bluegrass music fans. The long-awaited, 40th anniversary vinyl reissue of one of the most heralded albums in bluegrass history: J.D. Crowe & The New South will be released exclusively for Record Store Day! J. D. Crowe & The New South is an album by American banjo player J. D. Crowe and The New South, released in 1975. It was reissued on CD in 1992.

Record Store Day celebrates the 40th anniversary of this revolutionary bluegrass album with this special pressing, featuring two bonus tracks, PLUS extensive liner notes, based on new interviews with J.D. Crowe, Jerry Douglas, Tony Rice, Ricky Scaggs and Bobby Slone. Includes original the “flipping the bird" album cover photo (unseen since ’75.). The initial pressing is 1500 copies.

In a sense, this album did for bluegrass what bebop did for jazz: it intellectualized the music. Banjo picker J.D. Crowe, guitarist Tony Rice, Dobro player Jerry Douglas, fiddler-mandolinist Ricky Skaggs, and bassist Bobby Slone injected a jazz sensibility into the proceedings. The rigid rhythmic patterns of bluegrass picking were softened and complex scales were introduced, allowing the soloists more flexibility in how they improvised. Earlier bands such as the Seldom Scene and the Country Gentlemen had laid the seeds of progressive bluegrass by adding material from other styles. Crowe followed suit, including a pair of Gordon Lightfoot songs and a Fats Domino number, but took bluegrass a step further by expanding the musical horizons.
  --Marc Greilsamer


  1. "Old Home Place"
  2. "Some Old Day"
  3. "Why Don't You Tell Me So"
  4. "Summer Wages"
  5. "Sally Goodin"
  6. "Cryin' Holy"
  1. "You Are What I Am"
  2. "Rock Salt & Nails"
  3. "I'm Walkin'"
  4. "Home Sweet Home Revisited"
  5. "Nashville Blues"
  6. "Ten Degrees"
  7. "Cryin' Holy" (with Emmylou Harris)

An exciting and innovative album by one of the greatest modern bluegrass bands; everything from hard-driving bluegrass to haunting, slow ballads. Crowe's New South was replete with future stars Tony Rice, Ricky Skaggs, and Jerry Douglas. This is the band and this is the album that set the standards. The album also features support from Danny Pendleton, Mark Cuff, and Tom Guidera from Emmylou Harris's band.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer