Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Chris Stapleton Captures Numerous ACM Awards

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Chris StapletonThe 2016 Academy of Country Music (ACM) awards show was held last night at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. Cohosted by Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley, the awards honors and showcases the biggest names and emerging talent in Country Music today. Once again, Chris Stapleton captured not only the spotlight but many awards as well.

Chris captured both the Male Vocalist of the Year and the New Male Vocalist of the Year awards. He also took home Album of the Year for Mercury Records release of Traveler> produced by Chris and Dave Cobb. If that wasn't enough, he also shared in the Song of the Year award with Barry Bales and Ronnie Bowman for "Nobody To Blame." The track is on Chris Stapleton's Traveler album released last year.

Released in May on Mercury Records Nashville, Traveller initially debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard Country Albums chart with more than 27,000 albums sold, making it the best-selling first week by a debut country artist in 2015. The album also received immediate and extensive critical acclaim and landed him bookings on “Late Show with David Letterman,” “The View,” “Late Night with Seth Meyers” and “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” among others.

Chris Stapleton, Ronnie Bowman and Barry BalesFollowing a historic turn on the CMA Awards — Stapleton is the first artist to win Album of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year and New Artist of the Year at the same awards – Traveller became the first album to re-enter the Billboard 200 all-genre album chart at No. 1, where it stayed for two straight weeks. Stapleton also performed a “show-stealing” (Rolling Stone) duet on the live awards show with superstar and friend Justin Timberlake, which Entertainment Weekly called, “an unapologetic display of abnormal levels of talent.”

Stapleton capped off 2015 with four nominations at the 58th Annual Grammy Awards — Album of the Year, Best Country Album, Best Country Song (“Traveller”) and “Best Country Solo Performance (“Traveller”). The ACM's last evening have catapulted and confirmed Christ Stapleton as a bright light on country music today.

Miranda Lambert captured the Female Vocalist of the year trophy and Kelsea Ballerini captured the New Famale Vocalist of the year honors.

Jason Aldean took home the Entertainer of the Year honors. Vocal Duo of the Year honors were awarded to Florida Georgia Line. Vocal Group of the year was awarded to Little Big Town. Old Dominion was the winner of the New Vocal Duo or Group of the year award. Little Big Town's "Smoikin' and Drinkin' is the Vocal Event of the Year.

Thomas Rhett's "Die A Happy Man" is the Single Record of the Year. Eric Church's "Mr. Misunderstood" was awarded Video of the Year.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer