Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Rural Rhythm Releases Two More Hylo Brown Titles

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Hylo Brown AlbumsNashville, TN -- Rural Rhythm Records is proud to announce two new titles in its archival Heritage Collection series. The Rural Rhythm Heritage Collection Series will help keep traditional roots music alive and preserved for future generations. The Rural Rhythm Heritage Collection Series includes authentic Old-Time Country, Bluegrass, Folk, Country Waltzes, Fiddle Tunes and Gospel music performed by many legends & pioneers. Titles are mastered from the original master tapes, with original cover artwork and include many albums never-before available on CD.

Since the initial release in late 2013, thirty titles have been released to date in the Rural Rhythm Heritage Collection Series including titles by Mac Wiseman, Don Reno & Bill Harrell, Hylo Brown, Red Smiley, J.E. Mainer, Curly Fox, Dale Potter, Earl Taylor, Mac Martin, Buck Ryan, Lee Moore, Raymond Fairchild and Jim Greer.

Rural Rhythm has now released two more titles in the digital format from their Heritage Collection Series; Hylo Brown – Folk Songs Of Rural America and Hylo Brown – America’s Favorite Balladeer.

Frank Brown earned the nickname "Hylo" because of his considerable vocal range that became his trademark. Born in 1922 in Johnson County, KY, which also became the birthplace of Loretta Lynn, Brown had thoroughly absorbed the music indigenous to his Appalachian home.

In 1957, Brown joined Flatt & Scruggs, becoming a featured vocalist with the duo's Foggy Mountain Boys. Hylo Brown released his first album in 1958 on Capitol Records and it remains a traditional bluegrass classic.

Hylo Brown recorded seven albums for Rural Rhythm Records in the late 60’s with Lee Sutton as producer. Available for the first time as a digital download album, Folk Songs Of Rural America was the second of the seven albums and was originally released in 1967. Musicians on the album include Hylo Brown – lead vocal, guitar; Jack Casey – lead guitar; John Maultteay – fiddle; Ross Branham – banjo; Dan Milhon – dobro guitar; Dick Brickles – acoustic bass.

Uncle Jim O’Neal, creator of Rural Rhythm Records, was the architect behind Hylo Brown performing all the standard traditional songs that have been handed down through the generations on these seven classic albums.

Folk Songs Of Rural America Tracks:

  1. Girl In The Blue Velvet Band
  2. Little John Henry
  3. All The Good Times Are Past And Gone
  4. Sally Let Your Bangs Hang Down
  5. Leaf Of Love
  6. Down In The Willow Garden
  7. I’m Coming Back But I Don’t Know When
  8. This Train
  9. Prisoner Of Roane County
  10. Are You Tired Of Me My Darling
  11. The Storms Are On The Ocean
  12. I’ll Remember You Love In My Prayers
  13. Preacher And The Bear
  14. Black Jack Davey
  15. Go Along Mule
  16. Put Me In Your Pocket
  17. At The Rainbow’s End
  18. Conversation With A Mule
  19. Tie Up Those Broken Cords
  20. Froggie Went A Courtin’

Produced by Lee Sutton and available for the first time as a digital download album, America’s Favorite Balladeer was the sixth of the seven albums and was originally released in 1968. Musicians on the album include Hylo Brown – lead vocal, guitar; Clarence “Tater” Tate – fiddle; Billy Edwards – banjo; Dan Milhon – Dobro guitar; John Palmer– acoustic bass.

America’s Favorite Balladeer Tracks:

  1. Do Wild Roses Lose Their Petals
  2. Rolling Down The Mountain
  3. All Because
  4. I’ll Paint Me A Picture
  5. Stack-O-Lee
  6. Trusting You
  7. Little Green Men
  8. He Had A Long Chain On
  9. Waiting For A Ship To Come In
  10. Jailer Man
  11. My Old Mule
  12. Little Indian Maiden
  13. Every Day Dirt
  14. Peg Leg Jack
  15. Betty And Dupree
  16. Katey Moorie
  17. How Come You Do Me Like You Do?
  18. Lonely Tombs
  19. Sam Wilson
  20. Fireball Mail

Hylo Brown – Folk Songs Of Rural America and Hylo Brown – America’s Favorite Balladeer are available to DJ's on AirPlay Direct along with the other thirty titles currently released in the Rural Rhythm Heritage Collection series. In addition, these two titles are now available on Amazon, iTunes and wherever digital music is sold. Watch for more titles coming in 2017 from the Rural Rhythm Heritage Collection Series.

Rural Rhythm Records released a long line of Old-Time Country; Bluegrass & Gospel albums during the label's first two decades after Uncle Jim O'Neal started the label in 1955. Many of these vintage classic albums are still in Rural Rhythm's active catalog available on CD and digital formats. Many songs are still available in the various artist collection titles found in the Sound Traditions series. Many tracks were previously released only on vinyl records and will come back to life through the Rural Rhythm Heritage Collection Series.

Many legends and pioneers released albums during this period including Mac Wiseman, Hylo Brown, Don Reno & Bill Harrell, Red Smiley, Jim Eanes, Vassar Clements, J.E. Mainer, Earl Taylor & Jim McCall, Raymond Fairchild and many more. Bringing the traditional “retro” vintage sounds from the past preserves, protects, promotes and presents the ageless music of these artists for current and future generations to enjoy and appreciate using the technologies of the 21st Century.

Rural Rhythm’s Sound Traditions collection titles have helped keep the traditional Bluegrass flame burning for decades and will continue the steady flow of available Old-Time Country, Bluegrass & Gospel titles culled from the treasure trove of masters in the Rural Rhythm Records vault. Sound Traditions from America’s Heartland!

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer