Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

27th International Bluegrass Music Award Winners

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Earls of LeicesterThe International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) was held Thursday and the winners were announced during the annual Awards Show. The 2016 Awards Show was held Thursday, September 29 at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts, Memorial Hall in the Oak City, lovely Raleigh, NC. Sierra Hull and Dan Tyminski hosted the gala event.

Known as bluegrass music’s biggest night of the year, the International Bluegrass Music Awards acknowledges the year’s outstanding talent and achievements, honors new Hall of Fame inductees, and waves the worldwide flag for bluegrass music. A new and exciting group, The Earls of Leicester, featuring Barry Bales, Jerry Douglas, Shawn Camp, Charlie Cushman and Johnny Warren captured their second consecutive award for Entertainer of the Year.

The big surprise was one of our favorite groups, Flatt Lonsome who garnered trophies for Vocal Group of the Year, Album of the Year and Song of the year. Since their debut in 2011, Flatt Lonesome has enjoyed a nearly unprecedented journey that has placed them among bluegrass music's elite. Bluegrass Today calls Flatt Lonesome "the sort of band bluegrass needs right now" and says their brand of original bluegrass is "some of the freshest our genre has been offered in a while." Stellar picking and heartfelt songs centered around beautiful sibling harmony have made Flatt Lonesome a hit among bluegrass fans both young and old and their vibrant, youthful spirit, with careful respect toward tradition, has earned the praise of peers twice their age.

A big Congratulations to Becky Buller for her Female Vocalist of the Year award. We visited with her just a few days ago and watcher her live show in Bristol, VA/TN and this lady puts it out there -- energy, emotion, fun and quality, all in one fine package. Entertainment is the whole package with her show. Another congratulations to Danny Paisley for Male Vocalist of the year. Anybody who has been around bluegrass knows Danny and this award is long overdue. Danny is the real deal when it comes to bluegrass. Roots to the core.

Winners of the 27th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards:

  • Entertainer of the Year: The Earls of Leicester
  • Female Vocalist of the Year: Becky Buller
  • Male Vocalist of the Year: Danny Paisley
  • Vocal Group of the Year: Flatt Lonesome
  • Instrumental Group of the Year: Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
  • Song of the Year: "You're the One," Flatt Lonesome
  • Album of the Year: Runaway Train, Flatt Lonesome
  • Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year: "All Dressed Up", Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers
  • Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year: "Fireball," Special Consensus featuring Rob Ickes, Trey Hensley and Alison Brown
  • Emerging Artist of the Year: Mountain Faith
  • Recorded Event of the Year: "Longneck Blues," Junior Sisk and Ronnie Bowman
  • Instrumental Awards:
    • Banjo Player of the Year: Charlie Cushman
    • Bass Player of the Year: Barry Bales
    • Dobro Player of the Year: Jerry Douglas
    • Fiddle Player of the Year: Becky Buller
    • Guitar Player of the Year: Bryan Sutton
    • Mandolin Player of the Year: Sierra Hull
  • Inductees into the Bluegrass Hall of Fame were:
    • Clarence White
    • Founders of Rounder Records: Ken Irwin, Marian Leighton Levy and Bill Nowlin
  • Distinguished Achievement Awards:
    • Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine
    • Boston Bluegrass Union
    • SiriusXM Radio's Bluegrass Junction
    • Bill Emerson
    • Jim Rooney
  • Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer