Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Awards Show

SPBGMA Bluegrass Music Award Winners Honored

Junior sisk & Ramblers ChoiceNashville, TN -- The Society for the Preservation of Bluegrass Music of America (SPBGMA) Awards were the culmination of the annual convention held in Nashville Tennessee. Sunday evening, the awards ceremony took place to the delight of all those attending. SPBGMA is a regular favorite events for bluegrass fans and artists alike. The awards are especially important because, unlike the IBMA, the votes for these awards come primarily from the fans and not professionals in the industry. The list of nominations includes the entire spectrum of bluegrass music artists.

Gibson Brothers Capture 23rd IBMA Entertainers of the Year Bluegrass Award

The Gibson BrothersThe 23rd International Bluegrass Music Award were held the evening of Thursday, September 27th. The Gibson Brothers took home the honors of the coveted Entertainer of the Year. The night was webcast on LiveStream via the International Bluegrass Music Association's (IBMA) Bluegrass Nation website./a

AmericanaFest Attendance and Registrations Soar to Successful Event

AmericanaFest 2012Nashville, TN -- This year, for the first time, the sold-out Americana Music Honors & Awards program aired live nationally on AXS TV, broadcast via SiriusXM, WSM radio, and streamed by Musical segments of the Americana Honors & Awards show will appear on PBS nationwide during a special presentation: "ACL Presents: Americana Music Festival 2012" beginning November 10 in the Austin City Limits time slot, and international radio broadcasts via BBC2 and Voice of America will commence next week.

Americana Honors & Awards Show: Alabama Shakes, Punch Bros, Mavericks and More

Punch BrothersNashville: The Americana Music Association announced today the list of performers and presenters to appear on the 11th annual Americana Honors & Awards, presented by Nissan, Wednesday, September 12 at the historic Ryman Auditorium. The performer list includes the best and brightest icons and rising stars: Bonnie Raitt, Alabama Shakes, Booker T. Jones, Carolina Chocolate Drops, Deep Dark Woods, Hayes Carll with Cary Ann Hearst, Guy Clark, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, John Hiatt, Justin Townes Earle, Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson, Punch Brothers, Tom T. Hall with Lee Ann Womack and Peter Cooper, Robert Ellis, Sarah Jarosz, The Mavericks, Richard Thompson, and an all-star finale tribute to Levon Helm.

IBMA's World of Bluegrass Week, Sept 24-30, to Feature Star-Studded Events

IBMA LogoNashville, TN -- Though it’s still in the works, the 2012 World of Bluegrass in Nashville, September 24-30, 2012, already includes an enticing itinerary of unforgettable bluegrass events: a star-studded Fan Fest featuring more than 60 acts, headlined by The Del McCoury Band; intriguing panel discussions and presentations in the week-long business conference; and a very special 40th anniversary celebration of Will The Circle Be Unbroken, a landmark recording that helped put bluegrass music on the international map.

Laurie Lewis & Del McCoury to Host 23rd International Bluegrass Music Awards

Laurie Lewis & Del McCouryNashville, TN -- A powerful and delightfully unusual pairing of bluegrass superstars -- Laurie Lewis and Del McCoury -- will host the 23rd Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards this year, on Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 7:30 p.m. at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium. Nominations for the International Bluegrass Music Awards will be announced at a special press conference scheduled for Wednesday evening, August 15, at The Loveless Barn in Nashville.

IBMA Lists Eligible Album and Artist Criteria for 2012 Award Voting

IBMA LogoEach year, the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) prepares for their annual Awards Show. The award voting is by the professional membership of the IBMA and consists of three rounds of votes. The initial phase is listing what artists and albums are eligible for consideration for an award. Once that happens, the flood gates open. The first round is really an open ballot. Any eligible album, song, artist or musician can be written in. The ballots with names already on them comes later.IBMA Logo

It's Official: IBMA Announces World of Bluegrass Moving to Raleigh for 2013-2015

IBMA LogoNashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association announced its plans today to move its World of Bluegrass events to Raleigh, North Carolina for the next three years, 2013-2015. World of Bluegrass Week includes the four-day IBMA Business Conference, the International Bluegrass Music Awards Show, and the three-day Bluegrass Fan Fest. The annual industry summit/bluegrass family reunion draws over 16,000 fans, artists, and music industry professionals from around the world for the week-long event, with an estimated 8,000-10,000 coming from outside the region. World of Bluegrass provides opportunities for showcasing, professional development and networking at the largest concentrated week of powerful, live bluegrass music on the planet.

Raleigh, NC to Become the New World of Bluegrass

IBMA LogoThe city of Raleigh, North Carolina will become the new host for at least three years to the main event for the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA). Raleigh will host the "World of Bluegrass" trade show, convention, awards show and fan fest programs of the IBMA with a three year committment. Formal announcement will take place later today.

IBMA Announces World of Bluegrass 2012 Schedule: Sept 24-30

IBMA LogoNashville, TN -- There's a definite buzz among International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) members about where the host city for World of Bluegrass 2013-2015 may be. But the association's annual "bluegrass industry summit and music family reunion" is all set for a return to Nashville, and this year will definitely be one you just can't miss. Mark your calendars now for September 24-30, 2012.

2011 International Bluegrass Award Nominations Announced

IBMA AwardsNashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) is proud to announce the nominees for the 22nd annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, scheduled for Thursday, September 29, 2011 at Nashville, Tennessee's historic Ryman Auditorium. Also announced at the press conference were this year's inductees to the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame - bluegrass ambassador and leader of one of the most awarded bands in the history of IBMA, Del McCoury and pioneering bass player and guitar stylist George Shuffler - and the five recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award: Greg Cahill, Bill Knowlton, Lilly Pavlak, Geoff Stelling and Roland White.


Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer